My Geek History

I recently started listening to the Defective Geeks Podcast that a friend (or mutual friend, FB friend, just a great person in general) Dianne, aka Space Pirate Queen, started doing with other geeky friends. I’d fallen behind a bit and did a marathon of five episodes in one night and ended up feeling really nostalgic for my old college/geeky days with friends. I finished listening to all 15 episodes (as of today) in under a week!

The first couple of episodes they talked about how and when they became geeks, their “origin” stories, and how they all became friends due to their mutual geek interests (semi-stalking Dominic Monaghan from LOTR). Even though I was never into FanFiction, just listening to Giselle read some FanFiction on their podcast made me miss the old days, for me at least, of sitting around and talking geek with my geeky friends. Now, as some of you from my old college days remember, we did a lot of sitting around and doing nothing but talking and/or watching Anime and Manga. It consumed my college life! I use to stay up until 2-4am watching an anime called Rurouni Kenshin (on VHS with subtitles!) while working on school projects at night during the weekdays, and on weekends eat and watch anime at my friend’s apartment.

The more I listened the more I felt enamored with Giselle aka Gizzy, and then giggled often due to the nickname sounding dirty. Sorry! It’s still kinda funny, and I got over that part quickly because I was laughing my ass off bonding with Gizzy and her appreciation for The Hulk directed by Ang Lee! I felt like I was the only one alive who bothered to watch that movie from beginning to end. Years have gone by and I know no one else who likes that comic book movie! Granted, I will go see any comic book turned movie, in theatres. I have sat through every comic book movie released after I turned 12 years old (don’t make me do the math, or write the year, I feel sufficiently old already)! I even dragged two friends to watch Elektra with Jennifer Garner in the theater! They were mad at me for a while after watching that movie. I don’t always have the best taste in movies, I’ll admit to that. However, I felt a deep sigh of relief and moment of bonding to hear another person have kind words for poor old Ang Lee.

I am now an official fan/stalker. ๐Ÿ˜€

——

Origin of a Geeky Couple

Watching Anime is also how I got to meet my boyfriend. We were initially introduced to each other by my last boyfriend at a Starbucks, where they both worked at the time. Since coffee in one of my best friends I hung out at that particular Starbucks often, due to the large amounts of free coffee I could get my hands on, and try to do my homework (or socialize with the regulars who also had no life). We were introduced to each other because my ex-boyfriend knew we both loved anime and manga. I also use to go to Anime Expo every year and was part of an online community named Otaku Booty for a short period of time in college. Super geeky. My ex-boyfriend did none of that, and he thought it would be nice for me to make another geeky friend. So my new geek friend (current boyfriend) and I would do nothing but sit quietly in the corner watching episodes of Naruto and Bleach fansubs at Starbucks. After my last boyfriend and I broke up I stayed friends with a lot of people he introduced me to, including The Boyfriend, and love of my life.

My Boyfriend and I do a lot of geeky stuff together like a marathon of Battlestar Galactica or Firefly, go see midnight showings of the newest movies (Scott Pilgrim and Kick-Ass), go to Anime Expo and Comic-Con, and buy each other gifts in the form of the newest weekly comic books (on Wednesday of course!). Our interests are still a little different in some areas, for example, he likes to play online RPG’s and I knit and do arts and crafts. We’ve made a beautiful geek life together and have accumulated way too many action figures and comic books. We have so much stuff, in our spacious home I am remodeling an extra storage room in to a library/craft/toy room to keep most of our cherished belongings.

Lets hope I finish that remodel this summer… ๐Ÿ˜€

1 Comment

Filed under Life, The Defective Geeks

One response to “My Geek History

  1. It’s an remarkable paragraph in support of all the internet users; they will take benefit from it I am sure.

Leave a Reply

