My Mind is Blown

I’m officially depressed. Slightly.

I’ve waited a long time to see Micheal Moore’s film Sicko, and I never really knew the details of the film, but watching it now makes me glad I waited after I got health insurance. An odd opinion I’m sure, but makes more sense after watching the film. I hate the coverage I have and I try not to take it for granted. The few parts of the film my boyfriend watched made him a little upset, and was enough for me to wish I could move to another country, but alas I love my country (begrudgingly), and my life here.

Another enlightening moment happened while reading The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo by Steig Larsson, also the author of The Girl Who Played with Fire. The portion of the novel dealing with financial journalism was a bit painful to read through, but the underlying plot of a domestic violence against women is astonishing. Even more intriguing are the legal terms for Trustee and Guardianship for wards of the state or government due to mental illness, drug/alcohol abuse, and juveniles who have no family to take guardianship.

I realize the two items I’ve mentioned are not related, but are things that I think about.

Leave a comment

Filed under rant

Leave a Reply

